Thor: Love And Thunder – Review

I finally had the chance recently to watch the brand-new Marvel film “Thor: Love and Thunder”, I have been extremely excited about this project since I loved Thor: Ragnarock, but also because I am a huge fan of Taika Waititi.
This film tells the story of how after the events of Endgame Thor goes on a journey to find a piece but is interrupted by Gorr the butcherer who intends to murder all the gods.

I have a love and hate relationship with this movie, I really must admit that the moment I left the cinema I was conflicted, confused and a bit disappointed, the movie has so much good and so much potential, but with all that it also has so many issues that its no wonder that so many people are hating it and being mad about it online.

First of all, I want to start by saying that visually this is one of the most stunning movies Marvel has ever made, I love how the movie was shot but also the effects, were jaw-dropping sometimes by just how gorgeous they looked. Also, the movie has a fantastic soundtrack! as a fan of bands like Guns N` Roses, and AC/DC I had a ton amount of fun from just the soundtrack itself!

I also want to give props for the acting, the movie has fantastic actors that are truly giving it their all with many of its scenes, one of them in particular which I just loved his performance is Christian Bale as Gorr, but ill get to that in a moment.
The movie has great humor that keeps you laughing thoroughly during most of it which also helped make it more entertaining.

Now going back to Christian Bale, like I said he is my favorite part of the movie, now I had a very big debate with some friends about his character because some didn’t like him at all, and some really liked him, I personally really liked his character, yes I am aware that because of the script his character has a lot of issues, but the way he was used I thought made him f*cking terrifying and as one of the scariest villains the MCU has ever had, and that’s like I said all thanks to the incredible performance by Christian Bale.

Unfortunately, though the movie does have a big amount of problems, which are mainly surrounding the script, unfortunately, the story focuses too much on humor and at some point just forgets itself inside the humor and doesn’t pay enough attention to actually developing the characters or the plot itself, which brought a situation where at some point some of the jokes just didn’t land anymore and the story felt really dumb and lazy.
There were also a lot of moments in the movie that because of how poorly the story was written felt “too good to be true”, like a lot of stuff that just didn’t make sense or connect and had people trying to guess alone why they worked the way they did which again shows that the writing of this movie was just really lazy, unfortunately.

To sum up, everything I have said, “Thor: Love and Thunder” is a very funny and a very entertaining movie but it’s also a mess.
My score for “Thor: Love and Thunder” is: 6.8/10

Leave a comment